Prostate cancer

Prostate cancer (also known as carcinoma of the prostate) develops in the prostate, a gland in the male reproductive system and is one of the most common cancers among men. In many cases, cancerous cells infiltrate the surrounding prostatic capsule area, making a radical prostatectomy impossible. Thus, in approx. 50% of post-surgery patients, microscopic remnants of the tumor can still be found. Other common side effects of a prostatectomy include urinary incontinence and erectile dysfunction.

Radiation therapy is at an advantage here. When ist comes to the chance of recovery, there are no differences between a radical prostatectomy and radiotherapy. Thanks to technological progress, it is now possible to apply radiation doses of up to 80 Gy, thus improving the patient’s chances of recovery.


Due to highly adavanced radiotherapy, it is possible to irradiate the prostate with millimetric accuracy. This minimizes the risk of damage to the bladder and rectum while eliminating other grave side effects. Therefore, radiotherapy is a gentle alternative to prostatectomy. Many patients remain permanently free of symptoms after a radiotherapeutic treatment of the prostate.

At Dr. Adrian Staab’s new Centre for Radiotherapy, patients are treated with a state-of-the-art linear accelerator. This highly innovative technology is only being used in very few specialist centres throughout Germany.

The so-called RapidArc® Technology

  • reduces the duration of a treatment session significantly from 20 – 30 minutes down to about 5 minutes
  • enables a more accurate and time-saving treatment compared to conventional irradiation units
  • reduces side-effects due to the precise and fast irradiation treatment
  • significantly improves the patient’s comfort

Conclusion:

When treating prostate cancer, advanced and patient-friendly radiotherapy is a viable alternative to surgery.
Side-effects prove to be rare after irradiation of a prostate carcinoma.
Many patients remain permanently symptom-free after a radiotherapeutic treatment of the prostate.

Prostata­karzinom

Das Prostatakarzinom geht vom Drüsengewebe der Vorsteherdrüse (Prostata) aus und gehört zu den häufigsten Krebserkrankungen bei Männern. Häufig infiltriert das Prostatakarzinom die umschließende Kapsel, so dass eine radikale Entfernung der Prostata nicht möglich ist. Deshalb finden sich bei ca. 50 % der Patienten nach erfolgter Operation noch mikroskopische Tumorreste. Weiterhin kommt es nach erfolgter Operation häufig zu Harninkontinenz und Verlust der Erektionsfähigkeit.

Die Strahlentherapie ist hier von Vorteil. Bezüglich Heilungschancen bestehen keine Unterschiede zwischen der kompletten operativen Entfernung der Vorsteherdrüse und einer Bestrahlung. Durch technologische Fortschritte ist es inzwischen möglich, Bestrahlungsdosen bis ca. 80 Gy zu applizieren. Hierdurch steigen die Heilungschancen der Patienten.

 

Durch die moderne Strahlentherapie kann die Prostata präzise und millimetergenau bestrahlt werden. Blase und Enddarm werden geschont und somit schwerwiegende Nebenwirkungen vermieden. Somit ist die Strahlentherapie eine schonende Alternative zur Operation.
Viele Patienten bleiben nach erfolgter Bestrahlung der Prostata dauerhaft beschwerdefrei.

Im Zentrum für Strahlentherapie Dr. Adrian Staab steht den Patienten ein Linearbeschleuniger der neuesten Generation zur Verfügung. Dieses Gerät ist eine absolute Neuheit und ist nur an wenigen Zentren in Deutschland im Einsatz. Durch Anwendung der RapidArc®-Technologie

  • verkürzt sich zu einem deutlich die Behandlungszeit von 20 bis 30 Minuten auf ca. 5 Minuten.
  • erfolgt eine präzisere und schnellere Behandlung als durch herkömmliche Geräte.
  • treten durch die hohe Präzision des Gerätes und eine kürzere Behandlungszeit weniger Nebenwirkungen auf.
  • Der Patientenkomfort verbessert sich deutlich.

Fazit:

Moderne, für den Patienten komfortablere Strahlentherapie ist eine sinnvolle Alternative zur Operation bei der Behandlung des Prostatakarzinoms.
Dauerhafte Nebenwirkungen nach Bestrahlung des Prostatakarzinoms sind selten.
Viele Patienten bleiben nach erfolgter Bestrahlung der Prostata dauerhaft beschwerdefrei.